Three distinct two-component systems are involved in resistance to the class I bacteriocins, Nukacin ISK-1 and nisin A, in Staphylococcus aureus.

Staphylococcus aureus uses two-component systems (TCSs) to adapt to stressful environmental conditions. To colonize a host, S. aureus must resist bacteriocins produced by commensal bacteria. In a comprehensive analysis using individual TCS inactivation mutants, the inactivation of two TCSs, graRS an...

Full description

Bibliographic Details
Main Authors: Miki Kawada-Matsuo, Yuuma Yoshida, Takeshi Zendo, Junichi Nagao, Yuichi Oogai, Yasunori Nakamura, Kenji Sonomoto, Norifumi Nakamura, Hitoshi Komatsuzawa
Format: Article
Published: Public Library of Science (PLoS) 2013-01-01
Series:PLoS ONE
Online Access: